Rescuing Verses of the Bible: “Where this is no vision. . . .” and “Train up a child. . . .

Last time we looked at Rev. 3:20 and rescued it from abuse, for it deals with Church discipline, not salvation, per se. Today, we have two more verses to rescue. Here is the first one.

‘”WHERE THERE IS NO VISION, THE PEOPLE PERISH”—is that a proper translation?

PROVERBS 29:18 from the old KJV: “Where there is no vision, the people perish: but he that keepeth the law, happy is he.” (Prov. 29:18 KJV)

How many times have you and I heard people say something like “unless we have a goal in mind, we will fail”. Then then invoke Proverbs 29:18. Of course, it is true that if we don’t have goals, we’ll fail. BUT it has nothing to do with this verse. The Hebrew word for “vision” is hazôn, while hozeh is a “seer”. Actually, the old KJV was not far off, but the problem is that we have misunderstood the word “vision”. It does not mean a goal but refers to revelation from God, a prophetic vision from a prophet. In other words, where there is neglect of revelation from God, the people perish. Finally, here the KJV can be improved from “the people perish” (though certainly true!) to “Where there is no prophetic vision the people cast off restraint”. (Prov. 29:18 ESV) When I was in high school, we had the Ten Commandments posted in the home rooms, and since the school was basically Christian and Jewish, we could agree on those ten words! If we wanted to settle a moral argument, we could point to one of the commandments on the way and that was the end of the argument. Just the presence of God’s word posted was a restraint to our behavior. When people get rid of the Holy Scripture in public, they cast off restraint. Here are some other passages from Proverbs on the same topic:

Those who forsake the law praise the wicked, But such as keep the law contend with them. (Prov. 28:4 NKJ)

We are to contend with those who despise God’s moral precepts.

 

Here is another verse that we can rescue:

TRAIN UP A CHILD IN THE WAY HE SHOULD GO . . .”

Train up a child in the way he should go, And when he is old he will not depart from it. (Prov. 22:6 NKJ)

This is the translation that most versions give, and it has history on its side. Here is my challenge and translation:

“Train up a child according to his own way, and when he is old he will not depart from it.”

Now it is a warning. I have no doubt that the principle of this verse is correct, that if we rear our children in the Lord, generally they will love the Lord. My challenge is whether this particular verse actually says that. So how did I arrive at my translation and do others support it?

I was translating Hebrew full time in the summer of 1976, and we were working on a Hebrew interlinear, putting one English word under its Hebrew equivalent (actually usually several English words under a Hebrew word). I had been working many hours on Proverbs, and when I came to that verse I instinctively translated it the way I had all the other times in Proverbs, but then I realized that it was a verse we all fall back on. Do I dare shake the standards of sacred tradition? I double checked myself, and triple checked myself. I don’t recall if my translation was allowed to stand or not, but I maintained my position.

Then years later, while teaching Hebrew in seminary (over 20 years), I came across a grammar that confirmed my position: Gary D. Pratico and Miles V. Van Pelt, Basics of Biblical Hebrew, 2001. On pages 284-285, they go into the Hebrew grammar, stating that the construction in Prov. 22:6 is very similar to other places in Proverbs, which is what I had said. I could give you’re the grammar statements, but this post is already esoteric enough. Here are some other verses they cited along with Prov. 22:6:

Chasten your son while there is hope, and do not set your heart on his destruction. (Prov. 19:18 NKJ)

Foolishness is bound up in the heart of a child; the rod of correction will drive it far from him. (Prov. 22:15 NKJ)

The rod and rebuke give wisdom, but a child left to himself brings shame to his mother (Prov. 29:15 NKJ)

Regardless of the translation of Proverbs 22:6, we definitely have confirmation from the other verses cited that we have reared a generation of brats who want their own way. In the end, unless they repent, they will perish. AMEN. Ω

 

We welcome your comments

