A New Testament Biblical Theology: The Unfolding of the Old Testament in the New

By G. K. Beale

© Very Rev. Curtis I. Crenshaw, Th.D.

Beale_NewTestament BiblicalTheologyShall I say once again that Beale and I were students together at Dallas Theological Seminary, in the same class, 1972-76? There is one great difference: He has gone on to become a super-scholar, while I pastored churches for 36 years and have a much smaller niche in academia. I use his books in my studies, and he probably does not recall me. In each case, we are to be found faithful to the Lord. We both have worked our way out of dispensationalism decades ago. I suspect he is amil while I’m postmill; he can’t be right about everything!

I’ve always found Beale’s works to be top scholarship, conservative, but also with devotion to Christ. One without the other is not much use. I’m gradually collecting all his writings. Published in 2011.

If you want a work that sees the Old Testament as the bud and the New Testament as the blossomed flower—not replacement theology but fulfillment theology–this is it. Part 7 in particular appeals to me: “The Story of the Church as End-Time Israel in the Inaugurated New Creation.” Quite a mouthful, but given Beale’s and my dispensational background, a very necessary section. I commend this volume to the world.

We welcome your comments

