Old Testament Theology, Bruce Waltke, Th.D., Ph.D.

I’ve been reading An Old Testament Theology, by my former Hebrew professor, Bruce Waltke.  Dr Waltke has a PhD in Hebrew from Harvard, and a ThD in Greek from Dallas Theological Seminary.  Dr Waltke was the head of the Old Testament department at Dallas Theological Seminary in the 1970s, but he read his way out of that system into a covenantal view over thirty years ago.  I distinctly recall sitting in his Old Testament theology class at Dallas Seminary, and I whispered to a friend: “He’s not long for dispensationalism.”  For once, I was a prophet.  In his twilight years, he is teaching at Reformed Theological Seminary in Orlando, FL, having taught many years at Regent College in Vancouver, British Columbia, and at Westminster Theological Seminary in Philadelphia, Pennsylvania.  He has also written an advanced Hebrew grammar.  Though I have not finished this massive Old Testament Theology, I’m about half way through it.  It is a gem.  Though Waltke holds to theistic evolution, it is still mostly conservative.

The Very Rev Dr Curtis I. Crenshaw, ThD, Dean Ω

We welcome your comments

